Congratulations and Commiserations

12 May 2021 02:01 | Mary Southcott

Labour Reformers elected around the country

The 2021 Mini General Election – Thursday 6 May  

Electoral reformers did well in many case.  Updating those who won and those who lost is a reality check.  

East of England 

Suffolk County Council LCER Chair Sandy Martin won in Rushmere in Ipswich 

and Emma Bishton lost in Great Cornard Suffolk 

East Midlands 

West Northamptonshire Unitary, Daventry West was won by LCER Treasurer Ken Ritchie 

Greater London 

In constituencies Marina Ahmad won in Lambeth and Southwark and Leonie Cooper won in Merton and Wandsworth. 

On the London list: Elly Baker and Sakina Zahra Sheikh came in on the list top up whereas Murad Qureshi, James Breckles, former LCER Executive failed to be elected.

North East 

Hartlepool by-election - Dr Paul Williams former MP and LCER Sponsor.  

Unfortunately one of the first results on Friday 7 May which set the tone for the weekend announcement of more optimistic result. .  Who thought that a seat where the Labour MP had had to stand down, who given 10,603 to the Brexit Party in the 2019 General Election would vote for a man even if a GP. 

Commiserations also to LCER Vice Chair Julie Ward who stood in Evenwood ward in Durham County elections.  Simon Henig, electoral reform supporter, stood down as Leader of the Labour Group although remains a Councillor.  

North West 

Andy Burnham, new convert to electoral reform, reelected as Mayor of Greater Manchester. 


James Roberts former LCER Executive Greenbank 

Liam Robinson Kensington and Fairfield 

Steve Munby Riverside 

South East 


LCER Vice Chair Duncan Enright was elected both to Oxfordshire Council Council in Witney North and East and in Witney East for the West Oxfordshire District council.  

Commiserations to former LCER Admin Coordinator Catherine Arakelian in Kidlington South and Martin Stott in Kirtlington and Kidlington North 

West Sussex 

Commiserations to Lynne Armstrong, LCER Women's Officer, Felpham; Alan Butcher, Littlehampton Town; Roger Nash, Bognor East

Congratulations to the three Worthing candidates who won: Worthing East, Mrs C Baxter, Worthing Pier, Mr J M Turley, Worthing West, Dr B Cooper PR positions unknown.  

South West 

Stroud   Doina Cornell in Dursley Ward

Robin Layfield LCER South West in Rodborough 

Commiserations to David Drew, former MP and LCER Sponsor, Farmhill & Paganhill; Mark Huband former PPC in Minchinahampton.   

However David Drew won the Stroud Central seat on Gloucestershire County Council defeating Molly Scott Cato.   

Bristol Mayor, Marvin Rees 

West of England Mayor, Dan Norris 

In Bristol: Fabian Breckles won St George Troopers Hill 

Commiserations to Kye Dudd in Central and to Aileen McLoughlin in Windmill Hill.    


Labour dropped two MSPs but the following won and are in the new Scottish Parliament: 

Anas Sarwar ex MP, Labour Leader, Glasgow 

Neil Bibby West Scotland 

Sarah Boyack Lothian 

Daniel Johnson Edinburgh Southern constituency  

Pauline McNeill Glasgow 

Alex Rowley Mid Scotland and Fife 

Paul Sweeney ex MP LCER Sponsor, Glasgow 

Martin Whitfield (South) ex MP

Others elected, some for the first time, positions not known for definite.  : 

Jackie Baillie (constituency Dumbarton); Claire Baker (Mid Scotland and Fife); 

Foysol Choudury (Lothian); Pam Duncan-Glancy (Glasgow); 

Mark Griffin (Central); Monica Lennon (Central); Michael Matra (North East) 

Carol Mochan (South); Paul O’Kane (West); Colin Smyth (South) 

Mercedes Villalba (North East)

Commiserations to the following: Johanna Baxter West Scotland NEC; Stephen Curran Lothian and Glasgow Councillor; Richard McCready Dundee Councillor North East Scotland; Kevin McGregor South Scotland; Keiran O'Neill in the Constituency Glasgow Maryhill and Springburn Open Labour and L4ND 


MS Member of the Welsh Senedd 

Mark Drakeford First Minister Cardiff West

Alun Davies Blaenau Gwent

Julie Morgan ex MP LCER Sponsor Cardiff North

John Griffiths Newport East

Lesley Griffiths Wrexham

Jane Hutt Vale of Glamorgan

Huw Irranca-Davies Ogmore 

Jenny Rathbone Cardiff Central  

Others elected with a position not known for definite: Mick Antoniw Pontypridd, Hannah Blythyn Delyn, Dawn Bowden Merthyr Tydfil; Jayne Bryant Newport West; Hefin David Caerphilly; Rebecca Evans Gower; Vaughan Gething Cardiff South and Penarth; Vikki Howells Cynon Valley; Julie James Swansea West; Jeremy Miles Neath; Sarah Murphy Bridgend; Lynne Neagle Torfaen; Rhianon Passmore Islwyn; 

David Rees Aberavon; Jack Sargeant Alyn and Deeside; Ken Skates Clwyd South; Lee Waters Llanelli; Buffy Williams Rhondda


Tracy Brabin MP and LCER Sponsor won to become the first West Yorkshire Mayor.

Let us know of other electoral reformers you can identify or perhaps just ask them their position.   


077 125 11931  


By post: 334 Mutton Lane, Potters Bar EN6 2AX


Copyright © LCER



Campaigning for Labour to back proportional representation

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software